Vitriol at the Shreveport City Council Meeting – From KTBS Shreveport

Disgusting, it is a shame this behavior has come to the Bayou!!!
Council meeting gone awry
Author: Nick Caloway
Published On: Aug 14 2012 07:10:22 PM CDT Updated On: Aug 14 2012 10:44:51 PM CDT Small TextMedium TextLarge Text.Print Email .
Advertisement

Shreveport City Council 8-14-12
SHREVEPORT, La. – The Shreveport city council meeting was turned into a spectacle Tuesday night, complete with shouting and even name calling.

Discussion about street repair money got heated when District A Councilwoman Rose Wilson-McCulloch spoke about her plan to use $1.4 million to repair Audrey Lane in the MLK neighborhood. During her comments, McCulloch called out a local newspaper reporter for her previous coverage on the topic.

Then District F Councilman Joe Shyne interrupted McCulloch and asked for a vote. Here’s the exchange:

McCulloch: “The only thing I’m saying is help my people. I don’t want work just in MLK, but that’s where the surge has been.”
Shyne: “Chairman, I’m going to call for a vote and I’m going to set up a meeting. Kristi, I’ll set up a meeting between you and Councilwoman McCulloch.”
McCulloch: “You don’t have to do it. I’m woman enough to set up a meeting for myself. And I told you about that when I was on the Caddo Parish Commission. You don’t set up meetings for me, boy!”

Council Chairman Sam Jenkins called for order in the meeting, and the argument ended there.

After that a proposal by District C Councilman Oliver Jenkins, which splits up $3 million of the streets special revenue fund between districts to go toward street repairs, was approved by the council.

Also at Tuesday’s meeting:

A vote to accept money from the Red River Waterway Commission for a dog park at Marie and Charles Hamel Memorial Park was postponed.

About watchdogofladisability

Hi, My name is Jason W. Weill and I am a 2007 graduate of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette as well as an individual diagnosed with Asbergers Syndrome, an Autism Spectrum Disorder. I created Watchdog of La Disability because I am a non-partisan watchdog who not only holds our leaders accountable in Baton Rouge but also turns heads. Watchdog of La Disability will also focus on important Disability related issues using the most powerful media sources in TV,Print, and Radio: KTBS-TV Shreveport, WWL AM/FM/TV New Orleans along with the Times Picayune Newspaper and WAFB-TV along with the Advocate in Baton Rouge. I hope you find my Watchdog side to be of use because being a watchdog means being fair to both sides and holding anyone accountable who decides to take avantage of the disabled.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

